Easy Protein Enriched Granola Bars

granola bars

Last week I taught a group of 3rd graders how to cook some healthy foods.  The real trick is getting them to eat this!  It’s not an easy task for us parents, and any way to get extra nutrition in the food, I’m all for it.  We had made some pretty sneaky foods this week, and some of the sweet treats, they fell for it!  They saw themselves putting the healthy foods into the batter, baked it, and forgot it was in the food item.  Score!!

We eventually dabbled into the granola bar journey.  I don’t know about you, but our family goes through a FAIR SHARE of granola bars.  Mostly as a snack, but I know in school year, the kids will be packing them up everyday to go with their lunch.  What can a Mom do, but shake our heads thinking, “well, it’s better than other foods they could be eating.”  But did you know that granola bars are ridiculously easy to make?  I made a batch with the class and was smacking my own forehead knowing that I should have been doing this all along.  My husband also snuck downstairs to “make sure the food was safe to eat.”  :)  And after the class ate their samples, he snuck downstairs and grabbed a “few” more handfuls.  Can’t blame him!  They are that good.

I can’t take credit for the recipe, as I borrowed it from another wonderful blog site, Lauren’s Latest.  I also need to give credit to my Hubby for the protein addition that he came up with in the 2nd batch that I made for him, AFTER the camp was over.  What can I say… I’m a good wife to him.  He eats very healthy, and I like to make sure we as a family, all do this.  It makes it easier if all of us eat the same way, versus one drinking “pop” or another eating too much candy, or another chowing on Chinese.  (Who am I kidding?  We all have our cheat days!)

Recipe (slightly adapted from Lauren’s Latest):

  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 1/3 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1 TBSP protein powder
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 c. quick cooking oats
  • 1 c. crispy rice cereal (I used Gluten-Free Whole Grain from Rice Krispy’s)
  • 2 Tbsp. mini chocolate chips

Method:

In a large bowl, mix oats and rice cereal together.  Set aside.  In a small pot, melt the butter, honey and brown sugar to a bubble.  Reduce the heat and cook for 2 minutes.  Pour in vanilla and stir.  Wait for 1 minute to let the mix cool, then quickly add the protein, stir and add the mixture to the dry ingredients.  Pour mixture into an 8×8 greased pan and press down lightly.  Add chocolate chips on top, or skip that step.  Cool to room temp for 2 hours or cool in refrigerator for 1 hour  until granola is set.  Cut and serve!

6 thoughts on “Easy Protein Enriched Granola Bars

  1. We go through granola and fiber bars like no tomorrow.These do look super easy to make! I wonder if you have a recipe for a low sugar version. I find that many are way too sweet. Let me know if you do – thanks Andrea!

    • I saw some recipes lately, I’ll look them up for you and find additional ways to make them. I agree, while the recipe rocks, the sugar content is a big high for anyone watching their intake. Thanks for the feedback!

  2. Wow — these ARE ridiculously easy to make! I’ll have to try these out on my hubby and see if he has the same reaction as yours. (Note: I’ill be the one “sneaking” extra taste tests.) :) Thanks, Andrea!

Leave a Reply

