Egg-less Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

Egg free chocolate chip cookie dough
Can I lick the spoon?  How many times do you get tired of telling the kids, “no, it has raw egg in the batter?!”  Seems like every time I bake, my kiddos want to lick the bowl; and who can blame them?  Give me a shout out if you had done that ALL THE TIME when you were little!  Amen; me too.  :)

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Egg Free
But with so many health problems with raw eggs, I will say that I myself will not lick the spoon (or stick my face in a bowl, for that matter) anymore.  I wish I could, but the idea of getting a stomach illness is just not worth it.  I am a Mom.  There are no sick days.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Egg FreeThe girls keep asking for ice cream lately, after school (here in NC, it’s still 90 degrees!), and I figured this would be a good time to make something fun to go with it.  I remember thinking that my box of ice cream with the pre-made chocolate chip cookie dough chunks was different, but they are unbelievably tasteless!  What’s the point?  Then it occurred to me that my recipe for Coffee Cookie Dough Fudge Cheesecake had that egg-free cookie dough topping on it.  Perfect.
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Egg Free
So, when you make up this FAST and easy recipe for egg-free cookie dough, YES, you can lick the spoon, or stick your face in the bowl, and eat it “straight up!”  Or, you can chill it in the fridge until you are ready to use it for another day.  Whatever you like, it can be enjoyed on cheesecake or a bowl of ice cream.  Or, if you are like my husband, eat it straight off the plate.  :)

Sisters!

Recipe: (Slightly adapted from Willow Bird Baking)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 3/4 packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

In a bowl, cream together the sugar and butter.  Stir in flour, salt, vanilla and chocolate chips.  EAT!  Or chill in the fridge otherwise.

2 thoughts on “Egg-less Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

  1. When I was just a kid and I made cookies I realized that I didn’t have any eggs. At that time I didn’t know what the purpose of an egg was to the batter so I just added yellow food coloring to the dough thinking it was needed to add color to the cookie! Funny. Anyway, I recently read that it’s not always the egg that makes us sick but the FLOUR! Read this article from NPR: http://www.npr.org/blogs/thesalt/2011/12/09/143450624/the-surprising-ingredient-in-raw-cookie-dough-that-could-make-you-sick

  2. Yup, I’m among the former spoon lickers (okay, BOWL…), but your post made me think twice. Actually three times. Once for the “how to avoid salmonella info,” once for the link in Donna’s comment above (flour?! who knew?), and (most importantly) for your link to the decadent and quite possibly best-sounding cheesecake combo I’ve ever heard of… thanks for all three!

Leave a Reply

