Cook and bake from scratch!

Consider this… how many times have you picked up a box of brownie mix, cake mix or muffin mix?  Need a quick dessert? Hurry hurry!!  It’s so typical in today’s style of living, that we buy something already prepared vs. taking an hour and making the food from scratch.  The past year, I did an experiment on my family.  I removed almost all extracurricular things; dance lessons, bible studies, story times, swim lessons.  I wanted to see the difference that it would make to remove excuses for not having time.

Not having time is something we all tend to do to ourselves.  It’s a choice, really, on how much we put on our plates.  We choose to be busy.  BUT, by doing this, we also are saying indirectly, that we’re choosing not to take care of our families, our bodies, our well being.

Why did I bring this topic up?  No, it’s not to rattle your cage, or upset you, or even make a statement.  It’s meant to make you think about and evaluate what goes on in your life.  Going back to the topic of removing most of my family’s extras… I did so, and found time!  Time to cook and bake.  Time to see my kids laugh.  Time with my husband.  And more.  It gave me a moment of pause to realize I was going down that regular road that many people take.  Busyness.

Busyness=No dedicated time for better things

So what is so great about gaining more time?  For me? I discovered that I wasn’t really taking care of my family.  My job as a mother and wife is to do just that.  I want the best for my family and yet I’m feeding them junk!  I call it “fake food.”  Fake food is something we all tend to eat!  Take a look at the list of ingredients… what do you see?

My theory…

Fake foods, cause weight gain.  No, I’m not saying that’s the only cause, but I believe it’s definitely one of them.  How can that be good for our bodies?  Take a look at generations before us!  My grandparents and great grandmother ate eggs almost everyday!!  They ate foods from scratch.  They took the time to cook and bake.  They ate sweets everyday!  My great grandmother lived to be 100 years old and my grandparents? 86.  My other grandmother is still alive and very healthy.  What does this say??? To me, it says that real food is the way to go.  Real food keeps our bodies working better.  But, wait, it’s fattening!!  I know – that’s what makes the food taste so good!

Everything in moderation!

Just because it’s fattening doesn’t mean you can’t eat it.  Moderation people!!  Watch an ad on TV today and what do you see?  A HEAPING plate of food.  Heaping?  How much should you really eat?  You know, you are SO able to eat the foods you want if you monitor it.  Are you full or just not hungry anymore?  Not hungry? Stop!  Oh, it’s so good to eat, I love to eat… I know.  It’s takes retraining of the mind.  Try it sometime.

Exercise!

Seriously people.  We’re lazy.  We sit and work at a desk. We sit to drive to get to a destination.  We sit and watch TV.  We sit… What happened generations ago?  To societies today that don’t have time to sit – are they gaining weight?  I think not.  Got a meeting?  Stand!  Who cares!?

It’s all about balance

Take the time to cook.  Eat a lighter meal and you can throw in a dessert!!  I love desserts!!  Exercise. Move!  COOK FROM SCRATCH!!

I think you’ll find foods taste even better when they are homemade.  I personally have found that I don’t need to put as much food on the plate because they are more filling!  The nature of homemade food… satisfying in all ways.

****Just an added point: This past month, I took a new challenge for my family and removed High Fructose Corn Syrup enriched foods.  Impossible you say!  No way, it’s so simple.  BBQ sauce? Ketchup? Oh yes, my favorites had HFCS in them! But I managed to retrain my taste buds and bought natural replacements instead.  Here is the link on how I got started!! I encourage you to try it.  It will give you a boost on trying more foods from scratch too.****

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

