Cherry Pizza! Or is it Pie? or…Crust?

I know what you’re thinking… it’s off season for cherries, so why have I decided to make a cherry pie?  My Dad’s birthday is today and cake is not something he tends to eat, so I asked him what he wanted.  I should have known… Cherry pie!  His favorite, of course!

And why would I do a traditional pie?  By now, you are quickly learning that I love a challenge.  So yesterday (nothing like the last minute), I researched ways to make a pie unique.  And that’s when I stumbled upon a cool recipe courtesy of Ci-Ci’s pizza!

Pizza you say?  Oh yea… pizza. 

Introducing, the cherry pizza!  Or should I call it the cherry crust?  Cherry crunch?  I need help with giving it a new name!!  OK, I challenge YOU to provide me a name. I’d love the help.

Ingredients

* pizza dough (homemade or packaged)
* 1 (20 ounce) can cherry pie filling
Crumb Topping
* 1/2 cup flour
* 3 tablespoons sugar
* 1 tablespoon brown sugar
* 1/4 cup softened butter
* 1/8 teaspoon salt

Directions

CRUMB TOPPING:
1. Mix flour, sugar, brown sugar, and salt.
2. Cut in butter until the topping resembles corn meal.
3. Set topping aside.
DOUGH
1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2. Put pizza dough on greased 12 inch pizza pan and prick with a fork.
3. Bake crust for 5 minutes.
4. Remove pizza dough from oven and spread with cherry pie filling.
5. Sprinkle with crumb topping.
6. Bake for an additional 20- 25 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

I also whipped up some homemade cool whip to make the pizza look pretty!

Happy Birthday Dad!

2 thoughts on “Cherry Pizza! Or is it Pie? or…Crust?

Leave a Reply

