Banana Rum Bread

At the Copa… Copacbana! 

Plain ol’ banana bread?  Not happening!  I took a simple banana bread recipe and added some fun.  Whenever I come across a bread recipe, I think, what else can I add?  Being a chocoholic, I really wanted to add mini chocolate chips.  This time however, I relented and went with a tropical theme and added a dark rum to the recipe.  Delicious!

Basic recipe courtesy of Fannie Farmer Cookbook.

Ingredients:

  • 3 very ripe bananas, well mashed
  • 2 eggs, well beaten
  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

My addition:

  • 1-3 TBSP dark rum (according to taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a loaf pan.  Mix the bananas and eggs together in a bowl.  Stir flour, sugar, salt and baking soda.  Add dark rum, 1-3 TBSP according to taste.   If you start with one, you’ll be able to “smell” the batter to see the strength of the rum you are looking for.  Remember, it cooks off!  (I went with 1 TBSP, but I highly recommend at least 2!)  Add vanilla extract.  Stir in walnuts to the mix.  Pour batter into the loaf pan and bake for 1 hour.

SUCH a classic and yet wonderful bread or dessert!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

