Tres Leches (Milk cake) – Simplified

Last night, we had a dinner party, and the theme of the dinner was Puerto Rican foods.  So, I reviewed many desserts that are well liked and I kept coming up with flan.  Good grief! Not flan! I am embarrassed to admit that I’m terrified to make that dish, don’t ask me why.  But I suppose it has to do with giving it an ice bath and not being able to check it, that bothers (more like scares) me out of trying my hand at that dessert.

So, I decided to go with something more simple.  A Tres Leches cake.  The very first time I had a Tres Leches cake was at a restaurant in Charlotte, NC, called Miro.  LOVE their food, but mostly I love the desserts. (surprised?)  If you never had a milk cake, you really MUST try it.  It’s light and cold and perfect after any meal.  The milks used in this recipe are whole milk, evaporated milk, and sweetened condensed milk.  Now I did add a 4th milk (shhh don’t tell!), which was the whipped topping, made from scratch.  I feel the topping is the critical piece to the dessert and if you go with a brand topping, well… it’s just not the same.

Ingredients for cake:

  • Yellow cake mix
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 1 cup whole milk

Ingredients for topping:

  • 1 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract (or other flavor should you wish to alter topping flavor)

Instructions:

Follow recipe on cake box to create the cake on a 9×13 pan.  When cake is finished baking, take a fork and poke holes throughout the cake.  Let cake completely cool.  In a bowl, combine your 3 milks (evaporated, condensed and whole), and stir.  Pour slowly over top of cooled cake.  You want to soak the cake!  (Don’t get crazy though).

For the topping: Place all ingredients in a bowl and whip until texture is dense and creamy.  Use all of the topping on top of the cake.

Optional topping: maraschino cherries for color and decoration

This method of baking a Tres Leches is a quick and easy way to create without the fuss of separating the eggs and beating till they are fluffy and then hoping the cake will rise… like my “from scratch” version didn’t do. So I went with,  SIMPLE!

Aclamaciones!!!

2 thoughts on “Tres Leches (Milk cake) – Simplified

Leave a Reply

