Lemon and chocolate puddin’ pie

I must have been bored… I found myself creating a rather unusual dessert on a dreary day this week.   I love lemons when I’m feeling a little blue, and of course chocolate.   And, I must have been feeling ambitious because I had in my head that a lemony chocolate puddin’ pie would be a great idea.  Was it?  You be the judge!  I will warn you, if lemons aren’t your thing, then this recipe is definitely not for you.

Because I am asking you to be the judge, I would love to hear your comments!  I think something needs tweaked on the recipe, so feedback could be very helpful.

INGREDIENTS:

  • Lemon pudding box- instant or cook and serve is fine
  • Chocolate graham cracker crust
  • 3/4 cup Heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cocoa powder
  • Chocolate Hazelnut crunch (Pampered Chef)

DIRECTIONS:

Make pudding based off the directions on back of the pudding box.  Pour into chocolate graham cracker crust and chill for 4 hours. Prepare the whipped topping by combining the whipping cream, sugar, vanilla extract and cocoa powder and beat until it’s of a cool whip consistency. When pie is completely solid, serve with the homemade chocolate whipped cream and some of the chocolate hazelnut crunch.

My personal thoughts?  I loved the lemon punch it carried, loved the chocolate crust with chocolate whipped topping, but what really made the recipe pop was the crunchy topping.  Funny how a simple topping can do that.

I would like to try this recipe out with banana pudding as who doesn’t love bananas and chocolate together?  Yum!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

