Mardi Gras Pancakes!

I can hear the Zydeco music already!! Can you?  I really love this time of year, as it’s a great symbol that Spring is just around the corner!  I don’t know about you, but I’m really ready for warmer weather; it’s been a bit too cold this year for my taste.

Normally, I would post foods that you all know and love for Fat Tuesday, such as, Jambalaya or Crawfish Étouffée!  But I’m a baker and a chocolate maker, so those wonderful and hearty meals do not  fit under that category.  So what can you bake or cook for Mardi Gras?  Pancakes! Crepes!  Donuts!  King Cake!

I decided to to simple and a little creative  this year by making some pancakes for my kids this morning in the famous Mardi Gras colors of green, gold and purple. To do this, use the recipe seen here for the homemade pancakes (trust me, go with homemade, you won’t be disappointed!), and then added a few drops of food coloring to the pancake batter in separate bowls.  How simple is that??

Batter with yellow food coloring

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Green pancake cookin' up!

Stack 'em!

Have fun! Enjoy! Joyeux Mardi Gras!

Leave a Reply

