Peanut Butter and Jelly Mini Muffins

Yesterday I was completely lazy, and those are the days I enjoy, but mentally they drive me nuts.  I  like to be active, be busy, run errands, and bake.  But some days I just don’t have the drive to do anything, so it’s a day to recharge – always good!  With the laziness came a big penalty I had to pay.  I forgot to buy snacks for Ella’s class and she was the designated snack person for Friday.  Looking in my cabinets, I secretly hoped that I would find a box or two of unopened snacks or granola bars, but had no such luck.  I even tried to open the cabinets several times!  As if something magical would happen and they would be there.  It’s craziness, I know.  In any case, having no luck on the magic, I resorted to making something for the class.  My feet were tired from standing all afternoon and I lacked the will power, but managed to whip up a batch of Mini Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins.  These are preschoolers, so they HAVE to love PB&J, right?

As luck would have it, the kids devoured the muffins, as did the teachers.  Score!  Ahhh the joys (and headaches!) of being a Mom.

Recipe is courtesy of Pillsbury.  And I got it off of the flour bag! (those recipes come in handy in a pinch)

Ingredients:

  • Non-cooking spray
  • 2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 cup Jif Creamy Peanut Butter (I used Natural)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil (I used olive oil and it was great!)
  • Jelly

Topping: Sugar

Directions:

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Spray muffin pan with non stick spray.  Stir together flour, salt and baking powder in a large bowl.  Add milk, eggs, sugar, peanut butter and oil to bowl; combine ingredients on the low speed setting of electric mixer, just until moistened.  Do not over beat. (Causes the batter to get too fluffy… I know, b/c I was curious)

Fill prepared muffin cups evenly with half of the batter.  Place jelly in the center of each muffin.  Evenly divide remaining batter between muffin cups.  Sprinkle with sugar.  Bake for 18-20 minutes.  Remove from the oven; cool in pan for 5 minutes.

Makes 24-28 minis or 12-14 full sized muffins.

Leave a Reply

