Chocolate coconut soup

Picture courtesy of Jades Chocolate Blog

I love soup, but this is NO ordinary soup, friends!  This chocolate coconut soup was a rare find on the internet, and I’m pleased to share it with you all.  I have modified the recipe a little and I’ll show you what I have changed in the ingredients list.  One thing I should mention… this should really be sipped rather than slurped.  I’ve put my soup into shot style glasses so that people can drink small amounts.  The soup is SO decadent that it’s a savored in small amounts.  Like caviar! Strong to the flavor but it makes you want to come back for more.

Enjoy!

Recipe from Jades Chocolate Blog and contains some notes below of the changes she made.  I too made changes and will place them in bold underlined.

CHOCOLATE-COCONUT SOUP

  • 4 ounces  Guittard chocolate ( I used 72% cacao Coucher du Soleil, Mary calls for 70% cacao Onyx), finely chopped. I used Ghirardhelli chocolate – dark chocolate chocolate chips)
  • 1 cup canned coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons coconut syrup (such as Monin or Torani) I did not use a coconut syrup
  • 2/3 cup sweet dessert wine, such as Beaumes-de-Venise, vin santo, or sweet sherry.  (I used Il Santo Baroncini) I used a splash of coconut rum.
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) salted butter
  • 2 tablespoons sugar

Caramelized Bananas

  • 1 banana
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons granulated sugar

To make the soup, combine the chocolate and coconut milk in the top of a double boiler over simmering water and stir until the chocolate is melted.  Add the coconut syrup, wine, butter, and sugar.  Stir until the butter and sugar are smoothly dissolved.

To serve, instead of ladling into 4 bowls as Mary suggests, I used little sipping cups and served this as an appetizer.  I find that the soup is extremely rich and having an entire bowl would be overwhelming.

To make the caramelized bananas, slice bananas into coins.  In a small bowl, add sugar and bananas and coat well.

Spray  a nonstick pan with cooking spray and heat over medium high.  Add the banana mixture.

Cook the bananas until light golden brown, about 4-5 minutes.  Be careful not to burn the bananas (if you smell them browning or see color in the pan, flip them right away).

Gently flip the bananas over to brown.  This will take about 1 minutes.

Add soup to a cup and add bananas.  Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

