Hannah’s Orange n’ Chocolate Bread

Today my daughter and I were pretending to be on TV, showing people how to bake.  She admires the fact that I was on TV, back in February, and that still resonates with her today; hence the “TV show” we were playing out.   Though I’ve only been on once, and it was a news segment, she thinks of me as a celebrity.  How adorable it was today to see her mind think so big!

And so… she decided she wanted to really bake something!  (I am training my girls young how to bake from scratch!)  I thought she was going to pick something easy, but she was cutting an orange to eat and said, “can we make orange bread?”  Well, THAT is a bread I have never made before, so yes, we most certainly can.  I pulled out my trusty Blackberry and found a recipe for the orange bread.

…only to find that I once again didn’t read ahead… it was a recipe for a bread maker!  So, we pressed on and continued the process. altering the order everything went together.  In the end, the bread tasted great.  This bread was not only chosen by Hannah, but she also measured the ingredients (with assistance!), poured the juice, zested an orange, pounded the dough, and waited patiently for dough to rise.  I basically made sure the loose ends were tied up; that and I added the mini chocolate chips. 

The end result?   A great breakfast bread, very dense in texture, very hearty so you won’t be hungry for a while, and  quite delicious.  I was proud of my daughter today. 🙂

Ingredients (recipe pulled from Allrecipes):

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup hot water
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 3 1/2 cups bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons orange zest
  • 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
  • mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Place yeast in bowl along with warm water and mix together, set aside.  In a large bowl, add flour, sugar, salt and orange zest, whisk together.  Add yeast mixture and mix together.  Add orange juice and butter and egg.  Dough will be very dense.  Cover the bowl with a towel and keep in a warm place to let the dough rise.  When it’s risen (mine did not rise a whole lot, so don’t be alarmed), add mini chocolate chips to the dough.  The chips will mostly be cooked onto the outside of the crust.  Bake at 350 degrees for an hour or until browned.

Way to go Hannah!

2 thoughts on “Hannah’s Orange n’ Chocolate Bread

Leave a Reply

