Spicy Chocolate Molasses Cookies

I am a fan of older cookbooks lately and after reviewing a Fannie Farmer cookbook, I found this recipe.  While I love chocolate and could eat it everyday, there is another sweet that I could also enjoy just about everyday.  And that is the spiced molasses cookie.  So this recipe made me very happy when I found it.

The perfect harmony of nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves and ginger just steals my heart.  It is a childhood memory of me opening up my grandmother’s cookie tin and finding a fresh batch of what she called them as, “Maine Spice Cookies.”  OH the memories.  I remember taking a cookie, then another 5 minutes later, and another and another.  I’m sure she knew that I would be casually grazing, but that’s what Grandparents are supposed to do!  Spoil their grandchildren!  And I was spoiled with her sweets in her kitchen.

So, thank you Fannie Farmer for having  a very close recipe to my Grandmother’s (which was lost long ago, I’m afraid to say.)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup of light molasses
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup of dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cloves (or all-spice)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the molasses, shortening, brown sugar and egg in a bowl, combining well.  In another bowl, whisk the flour, salt, baking soda, ginger, nutmeg, cloves and cinnamon.  Combine the dry batch to the molasses mixture and blend thoroughly.  Place on teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased baking sheet, about 1 inch apart and bake for 6-8 minutes until lightly browned.

My additions:

I added mini chocolate chips to some of the cookies and that was just perfectly awesome to eat.  Or you can decorate your cookies like seen in the photos.  I dipped the cookie top into the batch of white chocolate for some and added mini chocolate chips.  Other cookies, I piped the white chocolate onto the cookie, by placing the chocolate into a baggie and cutting the tip. (make sure that you cut a itty bitty corner, or you will get too much chocolate pouring out of the bag.)

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Spicy Chocolate Molasses Cookies

Leave a Reply

