Whole-Wheat Breakfast muffins

I had to make school snacks again for my daughter’s class, and she was telling me they were eating a lot of unhealthy snacks and sweets lately.  Well, I had to put my foot down on that one and prepared a batch of whole-wheat mini muffins for the class.  I wasn’t sure what they were going to think about the taste since it is a very plain muffin without any apple butter to compliment it.  So,  I waited patiently all day for my daughter to return home to ask her.  She said the entire class loved them!  Except her, of course.  Figures.  But my mission was accomplished!  The class was happy and that’s what mattered.  (It’s the little things in life, yes?)

My daughter has my sweet tooth problem sometimes; mostly she eats pretty healthy, but these muffins to her required a little apple butter.  I had to agree.  They were not dry by any means, but just needed a little something to compliment them.  So if you aren’t into plain muffins, try that!

Recipe is courtesy of the Fannie Farmer Cookbook:

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup white flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup melted butter

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Butter muffin pans. (I used mini muffin pans and used cupcake liners instead) Mix the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar in a large bowl. Add the egg, milk, and butter, stirring only enough to dampen the flour; the batter should not be smooth. Spoon into the muffin pans, filling each cup about two-thirds full. Bake for about 20 to 25 minutes each.

If you’re going to spoil the kids, spoil them with these healthy treats!

Leave a Reply

