The Chocolate Chip Cookie

Everyone loves the traditional chocolate chip cookie and I was inspired today to make a batch of cookies because today is National Chocolate Chip day!  What a GREAT holiday that is!  My husband was especially happy, as this is his most favorite sweet that he savors.  The moment the cookies were out of the oven he came up here asking how they were doing!  But, the sweet husband that he is, did the right thing and ask which cookies could he eat at the moment and which ones were for the camera. What is amazing is my family has learned how to be patient for the sweets in our home.  They are fully aware that the pictures come first and then the devouring of the dessert happens.  There is order in our home. 🙂  Probably about the only order that is in our house, but at least it’s with my line of work!  I’m mostly impressed how my 4 and 6 year old can be patient during this precious time.  Sometimes there are desserts that call their names and they could be completely antsy; but they aren’t.

My dear husband, I know you are probably reading this, and I am so glad that someone created the Food Calendar so that I could be reminded today was a good day to bake your favorite dessert.  It gave me great joy today to see you in heaven with your cookies and milk.  And it gave me even more great joy, as I know it showed to you that I love you. 🙂

Most of you know that my favorite chocolate is Ghirardelli.  The chocolate is smooth and very rich in flavor.  Not to mention, the chips are bigger, giving a big boost in flavor.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups unsifted flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened (I used one stick salted, and 1 stick unsalted)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups Chocolate Chips (I used 1 cup of bittersweet and 1 cup milk)

Method:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.  Stir flour with baking soda and salt; set aside.  Beat butter with sugar and brown sugar at medium speed until creamy.  Add vanilla and eggs, one at a time, mixing on low speed until incorporated.

Gradually blend dry mixture into creamed mixture.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop by tablespoon onto ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake fo 9-11 minutes or until golden brown.

The cookie was wonderful in flavor and texture.  I liked using half salted butter and half unsalted, and didn’t find unbalanced at all. As for using mixed variety of chocolate chip?  Perfect harmony!

Happy National Chocolate Chip Day!!

One thought on “The Chocolate Chip Cookie

Leave a Reply

