Red, White and Blue Trifle

How many of you have a trifle bowl given to you as a wedding gift, and don’t know what to do with it?  Is the idea of it scary, or is it the visual presentation of one that makes you afraid to try creating such a dish?  Long ago, I looked at them as something formal or perhaps, decorative, rather than something that I could dive into.  And truly, with trifle, you DIVE.

What are you trying to prove by carefully scooping out the section of the trifle when really, it will fall apart into one interesting mess in the end.  It’s absolutely beautiful in the bowl… UNTOUCHED.  But when it comes time to grab the spoon, it’s important that you DIVE into the trifle and slop on that beautiful and tasty dish onto your plate.  I guarantee the creator of the trifle will be so very happy that someone wasn’t afraid to touch the almighty bowl of art.

This July 4th, you can really wow people with flavor and color.  I added white chocolate chips to enhance the texture and give it more depth in the chocolate flavor.  “But Andrea!” You say.  “White chocolate isn’t chocolate at all.”  Very true, it’s vanilla with cocoa butter… so it counts in my book!  🙂  You would also be surprised to know that I added white chocolate pudding and combined it with whipped topping to give it a fluffy texture, rather than use a dense pudding.  This cake carries it’s own weight and pudding mixed with cool whip lightens the load.

Ingredients:

  • Box of Red Velvet Cake Mix (and it’s ingredients required to make the cake)
  • White chocolate chips
  • Blueberries
  • Raspberries
  • White chocolate instant pudding mix (and it’s ingredients to make the pudding. CUT THE MILK SHORT BY A 1/2 CUP!!)
  • Whipped topping (big dollop)
Directions:
Bake cake and let completely cool.  Make white chocolate pudding, and cut short the milk by a 1/2 cup.  Add in an oversized spoonful of whipped topping and mix.
Layer!  And don’t be afraid.  This is your masterpiece, so have fun with it.  No one will laugh that it’s not perfect because there isn’t such a thing as perfect!
*Tip: I tend to make sure all ingredients are at the edge of bowl so that all colors and ingredients show for “the look.”
Break up cake, place some on bottom of bowl, add fruit, then pudding mix, then white chocolate chips.  Repeat until complete.  For the top, finish off with whipped topping and berries and a handful of white chocolate chips.
Happy 4th of July everyone!!
15 thoughts on “Red, White and Blue Trifle

    1. Thank you! I am a big fan of trifle dishes at parties. They always grab everyone’s attention and they taste great! I in fact, have 2 trifle dishes at home. That’s how much I love the concept!

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever seem a trifle bowl. Didn’t even know such a thing existed. If I had a trifle bowl, I’d probably just put fruit in it and display it. As for diving into trifles, that’s surely the way to eat it. The trifle looks yummy. Happy 4th of July

  2. I never received a trifle bowl, but now I wish I did:-) This is so beautiful, love the addition of red velvet cake, instead of yellow cake! Have a beautiful 4th of July:-)
    Hugs, Terra

  3. I really love this! perfect for the summery weather, but since here in the caribbean its hard for us to fin rasberries and blueberries Ill to a tropical fruit one! t
    thanks!

  4. Oooh, I love trifle! I’m definitely going to have to give your delicious recipe a try. Love your blog…so glad I’ve found it through the beautiful @Ciao Florentina! 🙂

Leave a Reply

