Pudding Pop Pie!

In the south… it’s “puddin'” not pudding.  I like the way words are used here, that beautiful southern drawl.  Unfortunately, it’s not heard enough in Charlotte, NC.  You see, this area is quite transient and full of northerners relocating to get away from the cold temperatures.  When we moved back here to NC, I considered myself to finally “thaw out” and enjoy my summers in the southern sweltering heat.  I guess I love the south by nature, as I’m always cold when we lived up north, so living here comforts me.  No heavy sweaters, thick socks or ski coats needed most of the year.  Sign. Me. Up. 🙂

So speaking off thawing out, and hot summer days… It’s the perfect time to discuss what I’ve made yesterday.  It’s a quick simple recipe, most of you already have done this once or twice, but I love the variations that can be done to Puddin’ Pie.  The best part of this pie is that it’s frozen and then thawed slightly.  It reminds me of those childhood days, enjoying pudding pops while hanging out in the backyard with my sister. 

Ingredients:

  • Sugar-Free Fat Free Instant Chocolate Pudding Mix
  • One ripe banana
  • 2 cups 1% milk
  • 1.5 cups Heavy whipping cream
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 frozen pre-made pie crust
  • Hazelnut crunch topping (optional)
Directions:
Bake pie crust at 325 degrees until light brown.  Set aside to cool.  Whip chocolate pudding powder with milk as directed on box.  In a separate bowl, beat heavy whipping cream, sugar and vanilla together until heavy peaks form.  Slice banana and place into cooked pie crust.  Layer pudding on top of bananas, and layer whipped topping on top of pudding.  Sprinkle with hazelnut crunch or other topping (if desired.)
Freeze for at least an hour.  Now to get that pudding pop flavor, let the pie slightly thaw out and slice.  It should have that icy pudding pop texture but not too soft putting it back into full pudding creaminess (unless you just want pudding pie.)
 
Enjoy!
6 thoughts on “Pudding Pop Pie!

  1. That looks so good. Oh, and friend, anytime you want or need to hear a southern drawl, just pick up the phone. You have my number…and I’m “in” Charlotte. HA!

Leave a Reply

