Apple Hand Pies

My favorite baking season of the year is here!!!  Time to get out the spices and make masterpieces with warm, enticing, and savory foods.  Ahhh Fall. Just thinking about it makes me smile.  How about you?  What is your favorite thing to cook or bake in the Fall?

Last night, before I started to bake the pies, I turned on some jazz… then switched it to steel drum music…  then realized that the tunes weren’t doing it for me.  I needed motivation and decided to throw myself back 10 years and put on some house music.  And then the energy filled the kitchen.  I was a machine, putting the ingredients together quickly, drinking a glass of wine and just realizing that it had been TOO long since I had last baked.  Or was it the music that I had missed.  Well, either way, it was a good evening doing exactly what I had missed.

Apple Hand Pies… thankfully is unlike what I used to eat when I was a kid!  My sister and I “enjoyed” some brand of packaged pies (gross!) and yet we ate them because the concept of eating a hand pie and not creating a mess, was, well? Unique.  Simplicity is the name of the game when eating foods sometimes, and I think that applies even today.  Which is why I wanted to give to you an updated version of hand pie, that is no fuss, and really tasty!  Better yet, these are baked, not fried.  (Sorry my southern friends!)

Apple Hand Pies (adapted from Leanne Bakes)

Ingredients for pastry:

  • 2 cups of All-Purpose Flour
  • Fresh cracked Sea Salt – just a dash!
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped dried edible lavender
  • 10 Tbsp. of butter, cut into small cubes
  • 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 1 egg

Ingredients for filling:

  • Apple pie filling
  • Sugar
  • Allspice

Directions:

Mix the flour, lavender, and salt together in a large bowl. Place the cut cubes of butter, and pinch with the fingers to make fine crumbs (almost like bread crumbs). Make a well in the middle of the mixture.  Stir together egg and sugar in a small bowl, and pour into the well. Quickly, mix in with your fingertips until the mixture forms a dough, but do not overmix.  Divide into 2 separate disks, wrap in plastic, and chill in fridge for at least an hour.  Roll out pie crust, until 1/4 of an inch thick. (I placed waxed paper on top of batter so the dough doesn’t stick to the rolling pin.  Use a large cookie cutter to cut out the pie shapes.
Place cut-out dough on cookie sheet, and spoon 1 – 2 tbsp of filling in the middle.  Sprinkle some sugar and Allspice on the apple filling and place another cut-out on top. Press together the edges with fingers or a fork for a more decorated edge.  Optional: sprinkle All-Spice on top of finished pie for extra seasoning.
5 thoughts on “Apple Hand Pies

  1. Oh, I love these. I was just thinking of making small apple pies, and this gets me just in the right mood. 🙂
    Also, I LOVE being in my kitchen, wine in hand and good music on. That is Heaven to me 🙂

  2. These look like the perfect dessert for a fall picnic! (Love the heart shapes, too.) Your dashes of allspice and thoughts about autumn made me hope it lasts for months and months.

Leave a Reply

