Chocolate-Eggnog Crinkle cookie

Chocolate-Eggnog Crinkle closeupI had a very special guest in my home from the Wilson’s World show on Fox News Rising. Yes, Jon Wilson was here for a baking feature during the holidays and asked me to present some classic cookie ideas to the public! I have to say, every time I get the opportunity to be on the air, it’s truly a pleasure and it has been great fun as well. So, I took some staples in the Christmas cookie world, and came up with some ideas that carried simplicity, style and also fun for the kids. Some cookies were the latest thing out on Pinterest, while others were tried and true recipes, yet given a slight twist for ease and flair.

Jon had the privilege of tasting these delectable samples, and really loved the one I’m going to talk about now, for you. It’s called the Chocolate-Eggnog Crinkle cookie. It’s your basic crinkle cookie, changed out with eggnog instead of water. Really simple, not time consuming and my 7 year old was able to put this batch together for me with minor assistance.

One way I took the cookie to a tastier level, was to make it into an ice cream sandwich. And why not?! I know it’s cold out there, but the ice cream flavors I used were perfectly festive and called to be put in a cookie. Yummmmy! Peppermint and chocolate? Or Eggnog and chocolate? Delightful.

Chocolate-Eggnog Crinkle closeup

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of Devil’s Food Cake
  • 1/3 cup of oil
  • 1 egg
  • 4 Tbsp of eggnog (water if you don’t like eggnog)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, mix cake mix, oil, egg and eggnog (or water) with a mixer.  Dough will get tough and will need to be kneaded by hand to finish mixing.  Roll out cookies in the shape of a ball and place on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for about 10 minutes.  Let cool for 1-2 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack.

Options:  Create into ice cream sandwich with Eggnog Ice Cream or Peppermint Ice Cream.  (I used Edy’s)

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate-Eggnog Crinkle cookie

  1. Andrea, what a treat that you were featured on TV (I looked at the link in one of your previous posts, too) and no wonder Mr. Wilson enjoyed these cookies! Never mind the cold… I’m with you on the ice cream anytime philosophy. 🙂 Merry Christmas to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

