Nutella Banana Crepes

Nutella Banana CrepesI love the French.  They come up with the most delightful food recipes and crepes are one of my favorites as a breakfast when we eat out.  Since it’s really rare for my family and I to actually eat breakfast at a restaurant (we enjoy eating  at home!), I never get the chance to eat crepes.  Today I decided I would take the plunge, and make them myself.  It’s really not a difficult recipe and once I made the batter, I had to laugh about how much restaurants charge for breakfast in the first place.  I got a LOT of crepes created just from this batch and it made me think… why would I eat out for this delicacy?  I can stay in my PJ’s, listen to some relaxing music, and devour in the comfort of my own home!

Chocolate chip banana crepe

This easy and wonderful recipe came from a book called, “Cook This, Not That.”  My husband and I have been enjoying going over  many recipes in it, as it’s colorful, easy to read and most importantly, tells you how many calories you’re going to take in when youcreate the meal.  Or course, I went straight to the dessert section and found Nutella Banana Crepes.  WHAT?  You don’t eat dessert for breakfast?  😉  So the taste?  Do I really have to say?  It’s Nutella inside a perfectly perfect flat pancake and bananas.  SOOOOOO
awesome.  My daughter was afraid of trying something new, but she took a bite and it was like out of that Julie and Julia movie…

Butter.

Oh, my goodness.
You have to taste this.
Here.
I mean... It's...
- I know.
- But I'm...
I know. I know. I know.

She was speechless and it was adorable.  I made Hubby’s crepe a little different, because he’s not into sweets for breakfast.  I used chocolate chips and bananas for his and went light on the chocolate chips.  He too was speechless.  So, friends, it’s worth it.  SO SO worth making this recipe.  I hope you all enjoy, and like Julia Child says, “Bon Appetit!”

Ingredients for batter:

  • 1 cup flour
  • dash of salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 TBSP melted butter
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions:

Stir together the flour, eggs, salt and butter.  Slowly add milk and whisk to avoid lumps.  Add water slowly and continue to whisk until the batter is smooth.  Heat pan to medium heat and coat with butter or cooking spray.  Pour in 2 TBSP or a little more depending on the size of your pan, and roll the batter to the edges of the pan.  (This might take practice, don’t be frustrated, have fun with it!)  Let the bottom get a golden crisp look to it and flip it over.  While the bottom is cooking, place Nutella and cut up bananas down the center of the crepe (on the cooked side.)  And fold over to seal it shut.  Cut and serve!

Optional fillings for crepes (because variety is the spice of life!):

  • Fresh cut up fruit with whipped topping
  • Egg and cheese
  • Feta, olives, ham, green peppers

Crepes closeup

12 thoughts on “Nutella Banana Crepes

  1. sweets for breakfast? isn’t that the norm? haha.
    i love nuttella banana crepes i actually want to have that right now… hmmm craving level went up!
    my first time here… but glad i dropped by. have a great monday!
    malou

  2. Ooooo those crepes look pretty… and yummy! I liked what you wrote about trying something new, having FUN with it, etc. — a very encouraging post!

Leave a Reply

