Red Velvet Madeleines

Red Velvet MadeleinesDo you ever have a cooking or baking utensil that just sits and collects dust?  If so, please help me feel better and let me know what you keep in your kitchen and NEVER use!

Truthfully, I must admit that I have had a madeleine pan in our kitchen that has traveled from house to house, NEVER used, for probably about 8-10 years now.  I was inspired by a movie to make them, and just never tried any recipe out.  So there it sat, with the well used baking sheets and muffin tins, probably begging for attention.  Thank goodness bakeware doesn’t talk or I would have seen a protest sign or a moving sign. LOL

Seriously, though, I have finally tried out a recipe and adapted it to fit my style.  I broke out that pan and conquered…and wondered why it took me so long to try it out.

Do you love red velvet?  I do, but I wanted to try something new out rather than go for the cupcake or cake or cookie or brownie.  I made Red Velvet Madeleines and I am SO SO glad that I attempted the recipe alterations.  The flavors are rich with chocolate and butter.  Enough said.  So without further discussion, the recipe.

Red Velvet Madeleines

Ingredients (adapted from Martha Stewart):

  • 1/2 stick of unsalted butter (4 TBSP)
  • 1 cup of cake flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 TBSP. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 TBSP. red food coloring

Method:

In a small bowl, place cocoa powder and red food coloring together and mix slowly.  If you add more red color, it will become more pasty.  Set aside.  Heat butter to melted and let cool.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Butter and flour madeleine pan.  In a large bowl, blend eggs, salt and sugar until thick consistency.  This takes around 8-9 minutes.  Mix in vanilla.  Fold in flour until mixed together.  Stir in cocoa mixture until mixture is a red color and smooth.  Add melted butter quickly and fold into mixture.  Quickly pour into the madeleine pan and bake for 10 minutes.

This is perfect for a Valentine’s breakfast morning!

4 thoughts on “Red Velvet Madeleines

Leave a Reply

