No-Bake Breakfast Bites

Breakfast bitesI don’t know about you, but I prefer to get a few extra minutes in bed to snuggle with Hubby and think  about the day with a clear mind.  As a parent, that doesn’t realistically happen.  My little 5 year old climbs into our bed and tells me, “Morning Mommy, I’m hungry.”  Not, “I love you” or anything else, just, “I’m hungry.”  How many of you understand my pain?

So I stumbled upon this great recipe for those on the go, with kids on the go (or wake up starving), or with those looking for a change in the breakfast routine.  I like the concept, because it is no-bake and super simple to make.  I encourage you to ask your family to participate in putting these together so they too can learn that great healthy food can be created rather easily, than bought – prepackaged.  What makes these so wonderful for our body?  What’s in them; flaxseed, honey, peanut butter, and oats.  [A little tip on Flaxseed… it carries Omega-3’s, Lignans (look that one up) and Fiber.]

Ingredients (Recipe ever so slightly adapted from Coffee and Heels):

  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup butterscotch chips (or mini chocolate chips)

Method:

In a large bowl, mix together all of the ingredients together and chill for 30 minutes.  Roll into ball form and store in an airtight container for up to a week.

Enjoy!

11 thoughts on “No-Bake Breakfast Bites

  1. So easy and yummy! I love all the added nutrients, too 🙂 We made some with peanut butter for my daughter and the other half with sunbutter for my son that’s allergic to peanut butter. I also added vanilla, cinnamon, and ground pumpkin seeds to add even more protein. My daughter and I only ate 2 of these with some blueberries and were full, which is WEIRD for my daughter who munches on food constantly. Love that its packed with protein and taste awesome! Thanks for sharing this.

  2. I just made these and they are awesome! I used coconut peanut butter since it was what I had in the pantry. It turned out really yummy. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

