Oatmeal Creme Cake Bites

Oatmeal Cookie Bite

As a child, my Mom’s definition of a sweet treat was keeping cheap boxed sweets in the house.  (Sorry Mom, but you did!)  I fell in love with Little Debbie’s the most, which was either the chocolate roll cakes or the Oatmeal Creme Pies.  First of all, why WERE they called pies??? It’s a stuffed cookie isn’t it?

 

Oatmeal Cookie Bite

My kids know nothing about how these treats taste, and I “try” to keep it that way.  I did eventually break down and buy this box that you see pictured.  It was the first box in 15+ years that I’ve had in our house.  Wow, how time flies!  So, of course, my kids were doing a happy dance when Mommy actually BOUGHT a box.  They tore into them and quickly gobbled up 4 “pies.”  Seriously?? Of course, when I looked at the calories, I was grateful that they are just kids and have metabolisms at the speed of light.  Me?  Ok, I had a pie.  Just to be reminded why I bake.  And I was. 🙂

Oatmeal Cookie Bite

HOWEVER!  If you smash these “pies” up and roll them, they magically make a perfect cake ball.  Go figure!  So, I rolled them in some Wilton candy melts, using the green chocolate, because it’s close to St. Patrick’s Day, and let dry.  They were ready in 10 minutes, start to finish.  This crazy simple recipe is definitely one that I recommend you let your kids try out.  Let them make a mess!  It’s OK, really!  The smashing up was my favorite part, but then again, I love destruction from time to time. 🙂

Oatmeal Cookie Bite

The taste? SWEEEET and yet, I had to have another—>the next day of course.  I am watching my girly figure!  Of course, the kids loved these sweet treats, and the smart parent that I am, let them pass out the cake bites to the neighbors kids too.  Get these addicting sweet treats out of my house!

Oatmeal Cookie Bite

While I liked making these for the kiddos I found that you can really decorate them nicely (think blue or purple chocolate) for a party! They are fast to create which is ideal when pinched for time.

Enjoy!  

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Creme Cake Bites

  1. They are small and have oatmeal in them – all I need to determine these are healthy and munch away 😀
    YUM YUM YUM!
    Sorry but they look really amazing 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Colossal Caramel Peanut Monster Cookies

  2. Holy cow that looked too easy – and suh-weet! But wow – as a Canadian I was never exposed to these pies/cookies/somethings – I mean, it’s like an ultimare Oreo with yummier cokies! Clearly, I have missed out and on my next visit to the US I have to at least *try* one of these!!

Leave a Reply

