Whole Wheat Soft Pretzels

Whole Wheat Soft Pretzels

I would love to say, everything is perfect, but do we really live in a perfect world?  I have “grown up” and learned over the past 5-6 years that this is not the case.  I am not a smile and wave kind of person, or a smile and say, “hey, how are you? Good? That’s great me too!” And then on the flip side have your world caving in.  This is not me.  I’m coming over to your house and bringing some cookies to hang out and chat… if you have the time.

I love authenticity, even if it means showing the difficult side of life.  How about you?  So, not to get too far on a soapbox, I’d thought I would show you these whole wheat soft pretzels that I made for the kids and I over the past weekend.  I made them originally for 2 reasons. 

  1. National Soft Pretzel Day.  Don’t you love that we have food holidays?  What else can we celebrate? (ok, so this blog post was supposed to go out on the actual day, but I got caught up in chatting with my neighbors!)
  2. I just found out my cholesterol levels were pretty high, so I am working on healthier recipes in our home.

See? Authenticity. 🙂

Before you start to ask questions… I am a healthy (or so my doc says) 37 year old, 125 lbs, and I hit the gym 3-4 times a week.  Do I eat well? Mostly.  A good bit of this is in my genes thanks to my Dad’s side of the family, but I am not blaming ALL of it to be genetic coding.  I take responsibility for the way that I eat, and conclude that I still do have a passionate love for fats, sweets and all the good stuff that God didn’t intend for us to eat. HA!

Whole Wheat Soft Pretzels

So changes will be happening, but you may not notice, nor may the recipe even remotely qualify to fit under a healthy category.  And don’t go assuming that I’m eating all of this stuff!  My neighbors kids love me.  (Yesterday, I passed out nearly 1/2 a bag of cookies that my daughter baked, just to get them OUT of the house.) 

I suppose I’m saying that I’m passionate about baking… nothing better than the sweet smells of breads or cakes in the house (and clothing/hair afterward.)  Sometimes I feel like I’m a walking cookie out in public. HA!  If you bake a lot, you may get this one.

Recipe (adapted from cdkitchen):

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 package fast rise yeast (standard is also fine)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cup very warm water (125 to 130 degrees F)
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/3 cup baking soda (for sodium solution)
  • 3 cups warm water (for sodium solution)
  • Sea salt

Method:

Mix 2 cups flour, the yeast (dry) and salt in large bowl. Stir in water, oil and honey. Combine until smooth. Mix in enough remaining flour to make dough easy to handle.  Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and knead about 5 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Cover and let rest 10 minutes. (I let it rest for 30 minutes since I used standard yeast instead of quick rise.)
Heat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease cookie sheet.  (Or silicone mat)  Punch down dough; divide into equal parts. Roll each part into rope, about 18 inches long. Twist each rope into pretzel shape on cookie sheet,(or do like I did and make all different shapes!)  Make sodium solution with the baking soda and hot water combined really well in a bowl.  Dip each pretzel in the solution, and place back onto cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with sea salt.  Bake about 15 minutes or until pretzels are golden brown and crust is crisp. Immediately remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Serve warm and, if desired, with prepared mustard.

Whole Wheat Soft Pretzels

One thought on “Whole Wheat Soft Pretzels

Leave a Reply

