Orange-Basil Chicken

Orange basil chicken

I’ve been working out of a Cooking Light cookbook (1995) lately, and the recipes inside are amazing in flavor, AND they leave you full too.  It’s probably one of 3 healthy cookbooks I own… I have a small collection of,you guessed it, sweet tooth books, and some hefty casserole books.  Why?  I have NO idea, but it’s been an odd sort of collected amount of books from over the years.  I’m really into finding old cookbooks and have scored a few at the local library for a $1!  But sadly, my best books have been discovered at estate sales.  It’s always sad about coming across a handwritten recipe from someone that has passed on.  Do you have a nice collection?  If so, send pictures of what you have!

With Mother’s day arriving, I thought I would post an elegant version of orange chicken.  What is not to love about the orange and basil combination with this recipe?!  My photo consists of the orange-basil chicken, a rice pilaf and a tossed salad.  The salad wasn’t good for photos, but the other part of the dish was.  If I could have sliced off half the photo, I would have!  HA!  What’s in the rice pilaf?  Basmati rice, salt, green onions and orange flavored cranberries (from Trader Joe’s.)

I think you should know the flavor of the chicken is really zesty!  There is a slight afterburner kicking, but it’s not unladylike in any fashion.
Orange basil chicken

Recipe (Directly followed from Cooking Light):

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 4 skinned, boneless chicken breast
  • 3/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 dry white wine
  • 1 TBSP chopped fresh basil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper
  • 12 (1/2″ thick) wedges of orange
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 Tbsp water

Directions:

Heat up large nonstick skillet at medium heat until hot.  Add oil.  Add chicken; cook for 2 minutes on each side until browned.  Add orange juice and next 6 ingredients; bring to boil.  Cover, reduce heat and simmer 15 minutes until chicken is done.  Remove chicken and orange wedges from skillet, set aside and keep warm.

Bring orange juice mixture to a boil.  Reduce, heat and simmer uncovered for 10 minutes or until mixture reduce to 3/4 cup.  Combine cornstarch and water, stirring well.  Add to juice mixture; cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens. (Just like gravy!)

Put chickens on plates and spoon “orange gravy” onto the chicken.  Garnish with basil if desired.

(176 calories per serving!)
Orange basil chicken

One thought on “Orange-Basil Chicken

  1. Andrea, your chicken looks fabulous, unlady-like or not! 😉 I have an old stash of cookbooks that I won’t part with either — so nice to hear that you’ve found some cherished versions with handwritten notes — a precious collection! I’m sure my kids will end up with mine someday… until then, I intend to enjoy every spattered and dog-eared page!

Leave a Reply

