Blackberry Buttercream on Chocolate Cake

Blackberry Buttercream Frosting
I hope you all had a good Mother’s Day!  I made my Mom a cake that I thought she would love and never had before, and I was right. 🙂  The whole Charlotte located family came over to our house and we enjoyed sharing a lunch together and celebrated the day a bit.  I do have to admit it was a bit weird making a cake for Mother’s Day, and yes it was in honor of my Mom, but once you become a Mom it changes the outlook of the holiday all together.  I was baking a cake for myself in a way. HA!

Anyway, this recipe was easy… I did NOT create the cake from scratch like I would typically do, because I was short on time with cleaning the house and preparing the foods as well.  So, I used just a box of double fudge chocolate cake mix and then created the frosting to dress it up.  And you know what?  It worked.  No need to fuss over the details sometimes!

Blackberry Buttercream frosting recipe (directly from In the Wabe):

  • 1 cup of unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup of seedless Blackberry jam
  • 4-6 cups of confectioners sugar

Directions:

In a stand mixer, whisk together the butter and jam until fully blended.  Add 1 cup at a time confectioners sugar until at desired texture.  (I tend to find 5 cups works for me, unless the cake is sitting in warm temps outdoors – then 6 cups.)
Dog ate cake

So… after we ate 1/2 the cake, we all strolled outdoors to watch my kids play on their bikes and scooters.  And then the unthinkable happened.  We forgot we left the dog in the house unattended.  I found her up on our dining room table lapping off the frosting.  *sigh*  Well, at least I know she approved of the frosting too.  Into the trash the cake went!  And no… the dog did not get sick in case anyone was wondering.  We were blessed in that little way at the very least. 🙂

How was your Mother’s Day?

4 thoughts on “Blackberry Buttercream on Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

