Parsnip Ginger Soup

Parsnip Ginger Soup
Fall is creeping in, I can feel it in the air on the crisp mornings the past two days.  Love. It.  The good news about this weather is that I get inspired to bake and create more dishes.  The bad news is that I want to stay off the computer and just bask in the glorious sunshine… but that really isn’t productive nor a good use of my time ALL day long. 🙂 Can you see it?  My husband: “Hey, how was your day?”  Me: “Just lovely… I stayed outdoors all day, left the house a mess, didn’t take care of any motherly duties, and was a full-time, lazy bum.”  Yea, that might work for one day, but that would drive me crazy to be like that the other 6 days in the week.

So, this weekend, I cooked up a quick soup, perfect for fall weather, maybe even winter.  I told my Husband about this soup and he gawked at the idea.  Why?  Because of the word, “parsnip.”  I said, “do you know what a parsnip is?”  He did not.  And this isn’t a shot against him!  Many people pass them by in the grocery store thinking, what do I make with that??
016

Many things. They can be put all different types of recipes, including making them candied!  Go figure!  A candied “carrot.”  Hmmm, I will have to try my hand at that some other day.  In any case, I put them in a soup this time and it turned out unusually delicious.  WHAT??? Yea, it’s tasty, but it’s not the norm with my palate.  It’s got an Indian flavor of a sort, and we don’t cook that style of food in our home.
018

Recipe: (derived from Jamie Oliver – adapted and you’re going to have to guess on portions to your taste for this one!)

  • Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • thumb sized piece of fresh ginger, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 Tbsp Garam Masala
  • 3 parsnips, peeled, chopped
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups of vegetable stock or chicken stock
  • sea salt and black pepper
  • Optional: Sliced red chilis, or paprika

Heat a splash of olive oil and the butter in a large saucepan. Add the onion, garlic, ginger and garam masala. Gently fry for around 10 minutes, until the onions are soft and sweet. Drop in the chopped parsnip and stir together so that everything gets coated in the oil and flavors. Pour in the milk and stock, season well with salt and pepper, and bring to the boil. Turn down the heat and simmer for 15 minutes with a lid on.  After 15 minutes, check that the parsnips are cooked by sticking a knife in. Remove them from the heat and blend using a hand blender or liquidizer. Taste the soup to see if it needs a little more salt or pepper.

2 thoughts on “Parsnip Ginger Soup

Leave a Reply

