Charleston and food trucks…

Last weekend we hit the beach, some historical sites and tried out some pretty delicious foods in Charleston.  I look forward to this trip each year in the fall because I know we’re going to do something new and eat at new locations.  Let me assure you, I have NEVER been disappointed yet.  Each trip has been unique to us and this one was very different from the last trips taken.

You would think the first thing you would do when you arrive to a beach town is RUN VERY FAST to the beach.  But this is where we ventured otherwise; and searched for ferry times to head over to Fort Sumter.  My daughter has a History Fair coming up and our trip has been directed around her needs this time.  Since her topic is on the fort itself, we decided that her seeing the site firsthand would be better than reading out of books or reviewing internet sites, etc.  I’m not an expert on history, so I find it comes alive when seen in person, helping me to identify better with history.  Being in the fort, I could almost visualize what took place.  Knowing that Anderson was doomed…

Fort Sumter

After our trip to the Fort, we ferried back to Patriots Point and enjoyed a bite to eat over on Shem Creek. If you don’t get to Charleston very often, I encourage you to take the 5 minute drive over to the area and eat.  It’s a beautiful setting with many choices of food.  We of course ate outdoors, ate seafood and walked the docks afterward, watching the sunset and fisherman try their last hand for the day.  Picturesque is the word….

The NEXT day we hit the beach.  Which one?  In the AM, we just did walking on the beach of Isle of Palm, since the air temp wasn’t quite warmed up yet.  Lunch was at Poe’s Tavern on Sullivan’s Island (yum!), and then we hit the beach (on Sullivan’s).  It is our absolute FAVORITE location.  It’s a little more laid back the IOP and not quite so well put together.  Rustic atmosphere and yet perfect.  That’s our speed when visiting the beach…

Sullivan's Island

After we left the beach, we were pleasantly surprised to find a Food Truck Rodeo held in the parking lot of a Piggly Wiggly! (The PIG!)  Ok, for those that don’t know what that is… it’s a grocery store.  🙂  So, this may be hard for you all to believe, but I had YET to try food from a food truck.  I’m talking the good ones, (not the ones found at fairs – no offense, but the new foodie trucks are just WAY different.)  How sad is it that I had yet to do a food truck event?  Truthfully, (and this is aimed at Charlotte!), we tend to have all of the food trucks held up toward the city… and I’m out here in the outskirts in the ‘burbs.  What can I say?  I like the ‘burbs/almost country territories.  SO Charlotte food trucks, please visit us in South Char sometime soon, I promise to stop and have a few bites!

BACK to the food truck rodeo… My husband and I found one pretty amazing place called Carolina Creole.  Gosh, my mouth waters now just thinking about the Crawfish Etouffee that I enjoyed with my slab of cornbread.  My hubby had their Jambalaya and his was just as amazing as mine.  The kids both had stuffed crepes, no sweet tooth surprise there.  Hannah had hers filled with chocolate chips and bananas, while Ella had the same only with cheddar cheese added.  Seriously?  Cheese, chocolate and bananas?  Yep, and it worked!  Lastly we washed our meals down with homemade sweet tea which was flavored a lemon lavendar from Dulce.  THE. BEST. EVER.  I found it odd that the best food we ate in Charleston that weekend was sitting on the side of a curb in the shade still covered in sand from the beach and in wet suits, enjoying stuffing our faces with the amazing food of Lowcountry foodies.  Sometimes the best of the best food is when you least expect it, and there is no dress code required. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Charleston and food trucks…

  1. Lemon lavender sweet tea and crawfish etoufee… oh my stars. Sounds like you hit the mother lode! 🙂 I also like your idea of the perfect beach… your photo captured the whole feeling of rustic relaxation with sand between your toes — loved it! Glad you had such a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

