Pumpkin Chocolate Chip

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cookies

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip

Yesterday, I was glued to the internet as well as the TV, watching the destruction of Hurricane Sandy up North.  Being a native to PA, I have many friends and family up there that I worried about, and some family in the Delmarva area that I STRESSED about.  Thankfully everyone was alright, but I had inhaled a whole bunch of these yummy cookies I’m here to talk about.

I love it… some people can’t eat anything when stressed, NOT ME.  I eat everything in site when I’m nervous.  And I’m glad to say that it was on these cookies, because they aren’t all that bad for you!  Yes, they have lots of sugar… come on, it’s a COOKIE.  But it’s also got a lot of pumpkin and only one egg;  oh yea, and oats!  So, give this recipe a shot, you won’t be disappointed.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip

I personally discovered it makes a great breakfast cookie… Yes, I LOVE chocolate at breakfast (in moderation of course!)

Ingredients (adapted from Taste of Home):

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups unbleached flour
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. allspice
  • 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 1-1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. in a large bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, and allspice; stir into creamed mixture with pumpkin. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  • Drop by tablespoonfuls onto greased baking sheets. Bake at 350° for 12 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove to wire racks to cool.
5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cookies

  1. So many people I know turn to baking and cleaning in times of stress. The other night I made Southern Fried Chicken, homemade mashed potatoes, marinated bean salad, brownies and cleaned my entire house. Nervous energy can be productive but fattening 🙂

Leave a Reply

