Gingerbread Apple Bread

Gingerbread Apple Bread
With Christmas around the corner, I think about all of the yummy spices that go along; cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, etc.  Gingerbread is my favorite dessert this time of year, and I always try to grab a slab at Starbucks or a bakery.  However, this year I decided to actually make it myself and after I did, I had to laugh at what a fool I was all of these years buying it!  This recipe is 10x better if you ask me, and I have proof!  I brought the bread to a group of gals and they all had the same opinion. 🙂

The secret?  I put apples in it, and it really made all the difference.  How easy is THAT?  If you look at my photos, you will NOT see a glorious creamy glaze or frosting on top.  I decided it was extra calories that I didn’t need, and I’m glad I held off because I have a choice in the morning to put on it what I wish.  Yesterday I topped it with a little butter, and today… cream cheese. Gluttony.  I bet Nutella would be good on this!  If you try that, let me know.

Ingredients (adapted from Taste of Home):

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp cloves
  • 3/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup Aunt Jemima’s  Butter Light syrup
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 apple, peeled, chopped into small bits

Method:

In a large bowl, whisk together all of the dry ingredients.  In another bowl, mix the egg, milk syrup and oil.  Mix together the wet and dry mixes, and add apples.  Bake at 325 degrees in a greased loaf pan for 1 hour and 10 minutes.  Test with a knife to see if it comes out clean.
Gingerbread Apple Bread
Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Gingerbread Apple Bread

Leave a Reply

