Ahi Poke – Christmas Style

Ahi Poke

My husband and I love to eat seafood on a weekly basis, and I try to mix it up with what is on the menu, according to the sales at the grocery store.  Sometimes we’re eating tilapia, sometimes our favorite, salmon, but sometimes we get lucky and have fresh tuna!

I have a thing for Ahi Poke at Sushi 101… actually, they call it “Ahi Poki!”  HA!  Silly name, but I assure you, you won’t forget the menu item with a name like that.  So, I figured it would be more fun to recreate the dish at home.  BUT, I felt it needed something to make it more substantial and balanced, so I added another favorite of mine, avocado (just like they do at Cowfish.)  Yum… How many times in a week can you eat avocado?  I feel like 2-3 times a week in different recipes would be my ideal, but I limit it more to one time a week.  Aren’t they high in fat?  (Healthy fat!)

How pretty this dish is for the Christmas season!  I hope you get a chance to try this dish out, and if you do, let me know how you adjusted the recipe, if you do, and what your thoughts are.

Ingredients (adapted from All Recipes):

  • 1/2 lb. fresh sashimi grade tuna, cubed
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce (low sodium)
  • 1/8 cup chopped green onions
  • 2 TBSP sesame oil
  • 1 ripe avocado, chopped into small bites
  • sesame seeds

Method:

In a medium bowl, mix soy sauce, oil, green onions and sesame oil together with a whisk.  Toss in cubed tuna and chopped avocado.  Toss mixture together lightly.  Sprinkle sesame seeds over, and toss lightly again.

SERVES 2 (or you can put into little appetizer cups to go a long way!)

One thought on “Ahi Poke – Christmas Style

Leave a Reply

