Homemade Gluten-Free Sandwich Bread

Gluten-Free Sandwich BreadThis weekend, I made some Gluten-Free bread for my daughter.  (I have her on a fast from gluten to see if that’s the source of her stomach issues.)  Working with gluten free flour is VERY new for me, and I have a lot to learn about the textures that take place compared to using regular flour.  Plus there is this thing called Xantham gum that is necessary for baking too; which I bought online.  (Don’t even think about buying it at the stores, wow! $$)

I used this recipe from King Arthur Flour’s website, however, ironically enough I used Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose GF flour.  Worked like a charm and the texture of the bread is great!  Like many breads, this takes TIME to make.  But I think it’s worth it.  Rather than retype up the recipe and instructions, head over to their site on the link above and create!

Have fun!

(Sorry for the blurry picture… I used my iPhone and was in a hurry.)

 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Gluten-Free Sandwich Bread

  1. Thanks for sharing the recipe Donna. I have to caution your friend about having her daughter go gluten free without a diagnosis. The problem is that if her issues clear up and she is “off gluten” then if she is tested they will get a negative result even if she does have celiac or gluten intollerance. You have to be eating gluten to get a true result from the testing. It is difficult to stick to a gluten free lifestyle…especially if your test results are ambiguous. Its hard to go back to eating what is making you sick after you are feeling better just to get through the testing.

  2. Hey Kristen! You are absolutely right, that is the same thing that I read up too. It was more of a personal test to see if that was a problem or not. I had trouble determining whether it was dairy or gluten. I just did a temporary fast. If she has issues flare up all over again, then I will definitely have her on regular foods before testing. Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Best of luck with your daughter! Going GF isn’t nearly as difficult as it used to be…there are so many options out there. I rarely feel like I’m going without. Happy Holidays!!

  4. It’s interesting (or alarming?) how many folks — young and old — are having to go gluten free these days. Thankfully, there are alternatives! Hope your daughter is feeling better. She’s blessed to have you for a Mama!

  5. Update on this: Thanks all for your concerns with my daughter. I went back to traditional foods and found she had no aversions to wheat. I’m not sure what she had been battling, but it seems to be finished! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

