Simple Chicken Noodle Soup

Homemade chicken noodle
Last Christmas, my Mom bought me a beautiful Le Creuset pot in my favorite color for our kitchen.  Cherry Red.  For some of you, you much be thinking I am crazy, but I assure you, I am only just a little crazy. 🙂  Who wants a soup pot as a gift?  ME!! I found if I kept the pot out, showcasing it on my cooktop, I used it frequently.  Even in summer.

Soup is such a heartwarming and affordable thing to make, not to mention, it is a wonderful gift to give anyone who is under the weather.  Last year, we had our share of illnesses and I made a big pot my Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup, posted it on Facebook, and was told it that I was making Jewish Penicillin.  Clever title if you ask me!  And very true, because once eaten, (along with an orange on the side,) that person definitely feels better the next day.  Not 100%, but on the road to recovery.

The picture I have posted is not including some of the options that I typically like to add, however this is the very basic recipe, and you can just go from there adding what you please.  I like to add diced fresh tomatoes (though canned works fine too – just drain out the sauce,) or frozen corn or peas can be fine additions.  Also, I spoke from the rosemary chicken blog that there are leftovers.  I took the cooked chicken, chopped it up, and used it for this recipe!  The flavors of my soup change ever so slightly each time depending on what I cooked the chicken with.  (Even BBQ chicken works!)
Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients:

  • 4 celery stalks, chopped
  • 3 medium sized carrots, chopped
  • ½ onion, diced
  • 2 Tbsp. Olive Oil
  • ½ breast of cooked chicken (or more if desired), chopped
  • 4 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 cup of water
  • ½ bag of Extra Wide Egg Noodles
  • Optional: Frozen corn, or peas, or diced tomatoes (or whatever veggie you like!)

Directions:

Heat up soup pot, add olive oil, and place the celery, carrots and onions in the pot.  Stirring often, let the onions “sweat.”  Once onions are cooked, add in the chicken broth and water.  Add cooked chicken.  Bring to a boil, turn heat down to a simmer, and cover.  Periodically stir the soup mix.  Check the carrots to see if they are soft.  Once soft, add in egg noodles, stir and cover again.  Stir periodically to make sure noodles don’t stick to pan. Once noodles have swelled, remove from heat.  If you are using a heavy pot like I do, the soup will stay hot for a LONG time.
Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

