Cookbook Review: Recipes to Remember (Spaghetti and Meatballs)

MarinaraSalsameatballs2

A couple of months ago, I had been graciously sent a cookbook by Barbara Magro called, “Recipes to Remember.”  It’s a beautifully written story and a recipe book from a daughter’s point of view, watching her Mother slowly lose abilities due to Alzheimer’s.  The author really captures the reader’s attention through her details and stories that she experienced growing up.

MarinaraSalsameatballs

Dealing with losing someone through dementia is an awful thing, and one I can closely relate to with a family member of my own.  What really hit home was the author’s worry about losing her Mother’s recipes; her home cooked meals.  They would be gone forever soon, and that is why she created this cookbook.  When my own Grandmother passed on, we lost MANY of her amazing recipes, and I am still heartbroken about that today.  Have you a member of your family like this as well?  If so, take the time now to ask for them!

The cookbook “Recipes to Remember” captures the following:

  • An epicurean journey through the US and Australia
  • 100 homemade southern Italian recipes
  • Authentic Italian holiday desserts 3 generations old
  • Traditional seven course Christmas Eve fish dinner
  • Resources and info on Alzheimer’s

Portions of the proceeds benefits the Alzheimer Association.

Of course, I had to test out one of the recipes!!  But, as usual, I mixed and matched some items.  I hope you don’t mind Barbara?  I already had some turkey meatballs premade, so I added them to a marinara sauce recipe, and it was perfection!  My family and I really loved the deep, hearty flavors, and will be adding this to my list of regular foods to make!  Thank you SO much Barbara for sharing your Mother’s beautiful recipes with us!

Salsa Marinara (Marinara Sauce)Recipes to Remember

  • 4 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 (28oz.) can tomato puree
  • 1 (15z.) can tomato sauce
  • 5 leaves of fresh basil
  • 2 tsp. dry oregano
  • Salt
  • Fresh ground pepper
  • Hot red pepper flakes

In a large pot, heat up olive oil, and brown the garlic.  Add the onion and sauté until the onion is translucent.  Add the tomato puree and sauce.  Bring to a boil and then lower the flame, cover and let simmer for 20 minutes.  (If you are adding meatballs, add them at this time as well)  Add the basil and oregano, then cook for another 10 minutes.  Salt and pepper to taste.  For those who like extra heat, add a dash of hot pepper.

(Serves with 1 lb. of pasta)

Disclaimer: Barbara Magro sent me this recipe book at no cost to me for my review.  The opinions and thoughts are mine, yours however may differ. Thanks!
Leave a Reply

