Simplified Paella

Simplified Paella

Keeping life simple is really the way to go when raising kids.  You parents out there are aware of how short time can be to work, run errands, help with homework, and find the time to make a decent meal!  Even if you don’t have children, life can be too busy or perhaps you just aren’t into the idea of using a lot of ingredients or standing up by the stovetop for a long period of time.  Most of my recipes on this site you will find, are simplified.  I teach children cooking, and there are days I have no desire to stand a moment more and create a masterpiece.  And I am working hard lately, to make sure the meals are more than just chicken nuggets with mac n’ cheese.  (Although, there are days…)

So I grabbed a really easy and fun recipe from a children’s cookbook, “Cook It Together,” by Annabel Karmel, making Paella.   In the wisdom of today’s youth, “I know, right?!”  Yes.  She has some pretty fun recipes in her book, and I wanted to share this one with you.  (Now, I’m not promoting her book today as a review, I bought this book for Hannah to use; which she does!)

Simplified Paella

  • Onion, chopped
  • ½ red pepper, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed (though I minced mine)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 ¼ cup long grain rice
  • 2 ½ cup chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp tomato puree
  • 6 oz. cooked chicken (I guessed on amount!)
  • Parsley leaves
  • 1/3 cup frozen peas
  • 6 oz. cooked jumbo shrimp (again, I guesstimated)

Heat oil in pan, and cook onion until it sweats.  Add pepper, garlic and paprika.  Pour in the rice and cook for about 3 minutes.  Stirring often.  Mix together the chicken broth and tomato puree and pour over rice mixture.  Simmer for 15 minutes or until rice is tender.  Add peas, shrimp and chicken.  (If you notice, my picture is missing the peas – OOPS!)  Cook everything for 2 minutes.  Top with parsley.

6 thoughts on “Simplified Paella

  1. That’s ok (regarding the peas). My family – mom’s side – if from Spain. I love Paella and yours looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

