Avocado Dark Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Avocado PancakesLast week Harris Teeter had a pretty big sale on avocados and I had stocked up. It was an avocado eating week!! I made guacamole, Ahi tuna poke, facial masks, and still had some leftover. So I figured, why not put them in pancakes!? You have to love the food trends… (though I think I’m a day late on this trend, but never mind that.)
I used my trusted homemade pancake recipe for this one and replaced the butter with avocado.

How did it taste? Well… a little savory vs. sweet, and I didn’t get any praise from the kids on the first batch. So, I added dark chocolate chips. Yep, chocolate always wins them over. Suddenly, this pancake went from, blah to “I LOVE IT!” I’ll take it.

Avocado Pancakes

Would I make these again? Sure, but I might add my usual spices in next time to go with it. The spices are my secret weapon for the pancakes, and if I don’t include them, well… it’s just not the same! Spoiled children… 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 TBSP sugar
  • 1 cup milk (plus a little more to thin out batter)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 avocado
  • dark chocolate chips

Method:
In a large bowl, mix together dry ingredients. Add the wet ingredients and whisk really well. Add extra milk if needed to thin out batter. (Regardless, this will be a dense batter!) Add chocolate chips and mix. Place on hot griddle and flip over when browned on the one side. Serve with syrup, powdered sugar or perhaps some mango!

What spices do I secretly add? (nutmeg, ginger, cinnamon and all spice!)

Avocado Pancakes

Enjoy!

One thought on “Avocado Dark Chocolate Chip Pancakes

  1. I love avocados, too, Andrea, and I have never seen avocado pancakes — what a creative idea! Was thinking the “unspiced” version would be good with a lime syrup of some sorts? You’ve got my wheels turnin’. 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

