Happy Chinese New Year! – 2013

Asian Donut Roll

To all of my friends who celebrate this holiday, Happy New Year!  Two days ago, I took my kids to Grand Asian Market to open their eyes past Harris Teeter and other similar grocery stores.  We really enjoyed going to see the different varieties of food they offered, as well as the live seafood area too!

And then… sweet heaven appeared in the corner of the store, their bakery called Chanelle Cake.  Of course I had to try out some sweet foods since this was all new to me.  I still don’t know what I bought for us, but it was unusual for sure.  🙂  If you could point me to the name of these pastries, I’d love to know what I had eaten.

Lastly, if you get a chance to stop at this grocery store, you will find a place to grab a bite to eat as well!  We enjoyed sharing a box of food between the three of us for a bargain.  Best yet, I discovered my picky eater DOES like Chinese food.  Yay!

Asian Cake

Happy Chinese New Year! 

4 thoughts on “Happy Chinese New Year! – 2013

  1. Was the fuzzy stuff dehydrated pork? My son lives in China and they have buns with that on top that looks suspiciously like you cake topping. Happy Chinese New Year (a little late)! thanks for the post.

    1. Hi Rhonda! YES, that was it. I just looked up dehydrated pork to see a picture matching perfectly! Thank you so much for writing in and answering my question for me. I can’t say that I enjoyed it on the bread for fear of what it was, but maybe I’ll try again knowing what I’m really eating this time. 🙂 Thanks for your help!!

Leave a Reply

