Easy Chocolate Guinness Cake

Chocolate Guinness Cake

Yesterday I had taught 2 cooking classes, ran errands in between, and then had to dash home to prepare an Irish Stew for dinner.  I don’t honestly know where they day had gone!  Sound like your kind of day?  While I was making the stew, I used a “bit” of Guinness for it, but had a cup leftover.  Sure, I could have poured myself a glass while cooking but I had a better idea…

Chocolate.

I was going to make Irish Car Bomb cake bites, but… after making the cake in a Bundt pan, I thought, let’s just keep life simple.  After all, I basically cooked the ENTIRE day with my classes and stew (which takes 2-3 hrs.)  So, I grabbed my tub of frosting, melted in the microwave for 30 seconds and poured over the cake. DONE.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!

Recipe:

  • Devil’s Food Cake Mix 
  • Eggs
  • Oil
  • Guinness
  • Chocolate Frosting

Bake the cake according to the direction on the box.  Replace the water for the Guinness.  I was told this cake cooks better in a Bundt pan, so that’s what I did.  Flip cake out of pan onto a cooling rack shortly after out of oven.  Let cake cool completely.  Take cap and foil off of frosting, and heat up in the microwave for 30 seconds.  If you are worried about plastic toxins, put into a microwave safe bowl.  (I probably should have, but was lazy.)  You won’t need all of this frosting, unless you bake cake in a 9×13 pan.  Let chocolate set up. EAT!

4 thoughts on “Easy Chocolate Guinness Cake

  1. I can’t believe that it’s so easy! I despite canned frosting but dang, it looks so silky and shiny and delicious when used as a glaze! What a cool idea.

    1. Veronica, I am SO with you on the canned frosting. I prefer to make my own once I learned how easy it was to create. I saw people try this method out to make a glaze and it honestly tastes better done like this vs. smoothing it on out of the can. Let me know what you think if you try it out!

  2. That is one gorgeous chocolate cake! (And we all know how fond I am of those.) 🙂 Hope you had time to sit down and enjoy a slice when the day was done — whew… I admire you for teaching cooking classes — that’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

