Slow Cooked Applesauce

Slow Cooked Applesauce

I know it’s been a few weeks… but I have been busy between school events (which continues through May) as well as receiving some pretty hard news recently.  My Mother has been diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer.  Without getting into details, let’s just say that those of you that already know of this, and have been praying, I’m SO grateful!  Thank you to all who are thinking of and praying for her.

Yesterday, I tested out a recipe and typed this up while it cooked in the slow cooker.  Homemade applesauce… but not with sugar!  My family and I are working on some new eating goals (this past month) and have been trying to eliminate sugar from recipes, by replacing it with honey.  (A real food.)  It’s been interesting, as some recipes are just a complete flop, but others are a big hit!  So, I thought I’d share this recipe to you…

 Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs apples, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 1/8 cup honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon sweet cinnamon (I used Penzey’s Vietnamese Cinnamon)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice

Method:

Place apples in slow cooker.  Toss with honey and sweet cinnamon.  Add lemon juice to water to combine and pour over top of apples.  Cook on low for 6 hours or high for 3. Mash!

Extras can be stored in the fridge or freezer.

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooked Applesauce

  1. Your applesauce sounds wonderful, the slow cooking will really bring out the flavor of the apples. Delicious! I am so sorry to hear about your Mom, please know you and your Mom and family are in my thoughts and prayers. As a sidenote, my Mom was diagnosed with stage 4 inflammatory breast cancer almost 8 years ago and with swift intervention and treatment she is still with us and cancer free.

  2. Warm applesauce always feels like a comfort food to me. I hope it did to you, too, after receiving that news. It was heartening to read the previous comment, though. Prayers and hugs…

  3. Thanks for liking my crepes. I was just thinking of making my own applesauce. This looks nice, I have bookmarked it. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

Leave a Reply

