ANZAC Biscuits

ANZAC Biscuits

Though I’m not Australian,  I have food blogger friends there, and I was thinking they might enjoy my variation of the ANZAC biscuit.  I had to teach Australian foods to my International cooking class last week, and the kids really enjoyed this biscuit (which they called cookies.)  Is that wrong?  This is where I don’t want to cross boundaries, and cause offense.

I had created a batch of the biscuits again last night for my daughter’s class, as they too are learning all about Australia this week.  And since today is ANZAC day in Australia (to honor the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps), now is a perfect time as any to present a sweet and delicious biscuit that I know you would enjoy!

My friend, Uru, has a wonderful blog post today on the holiday as well as a pretty awesome recipe.  Check her post out when you get a chance!

Ingredients:

● 1 cup flour
● 1 cup rolled oats
● 1 cup sweetened shredded coconut
● 3/4 cup brown sugar
● 1/2 cup butter
● 2 Tbsp golden syrup (I used 1 Tbsp syrup/1 Tbsp honey)
● 1 tsp baking soda
● 2 Tbsp water

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking trays with silicone mat or parchment paper.
2. In a large bowl, add flour, oats, coconut and brown sugar and mix together.
3. Put the butter, golden syrup and 2 Tbsp water in a small saucepan. Stir over a medium
heat until melted. Stir in the baking soda.  This should create a caramel fizzy texture.
4. Pour the butter mixture into the flour mixture and stir until combined.
5. Roll tablespoons of mixture into balls, and place on the trays, about 2 inches apart.
6. Press to flatten slightly. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown.
7. Set aside on the trays for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack so it cools completely.

6 thoughts on “ANZAC Biscuits

  1. Your cookies (and Uru’s) are tempting me big time! I was wondering what to use for golden syrup, too, and it looks like you’ve come up with a creative substitute. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

