Cherry Arugula Salad (over baked chicken)

Cherry Arugula Salad

Summer is in full swing here in the Carolinas, people are sunbathing, and kids are splashing in the pools.  Me?  I took a good look at last year’s swimsuit, tried it on, and was grateful that I bought a new one.  Last years suit fit beautifully…last year; but then again, I was a dancing diva in Zumba classes, keeping fit.  This year?  Ha… I had a huge conflict in my workout schedule faced with the kid’s personal agendas, cooking classes and volunteering my time to others.  Was it worth it?  Absolutely!

So here I am, in June, faced with the obvious.  I need to eat well, and take better care of myself.  Recently, I spied this awesome recipe, and thought it sounded beautiful.  Fresh cherries, arugula, tossed with fresh shallots, a little olive oil and red wine vinegar?  Yes please!  I also served this with baked organic chicken, seasoned lightly with olive oil, salt/pepper, and a little Parisian seasoning (compliments of Penzey’s spices.)  Delightful…  

Sorry I didn’t take any decent pictures of the chicken with the salad, as I was serving a few children at the same time, so the plating was done in a BIG hurry.  🙂  Enjoy!

Cherry Arugula Salad

  • Fresh Arugula
  • Fresh cherries, pitted
  • 1/2 shallot, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar

Place all together in a bowl and toss lightly.  Cover until ready to use with the chicken, or eat directly!

Baked Chicken

  • Organic chicken leg/thighs
  • Sea salt
  • Pepper
  • Penzey’s Parisian Spice
  • Olive oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  On a foil lined pan, place chicken down, and lightly coat the skin of the chicken with a little olive oil.  Crack sea salt over chicken.  Add desired amount of pepper and spice.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until cooked through.

Serve!

2 thoughts on “Cherry Arugula Salad (over baked chicken)

Leave a Reply

