Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies

Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies

I am not a fan of “diets” but I do understand the concept of Paleo, and have decided to try a few recipes lately.  I have been eating real foods (most of the time), but the other concepts out there are also pretty close when it comes to ingredients used.  Paleo, while a strong favorite for many people, is not on my top list, only due to the cholesterol count that runs high (genetically) in my family.  Red meats and eggs are not my friend (even though they taste fabulous!)  So it doesn’t work for me, but if it works for you, by all means, go for it!

In the meantime, I did try a beautiful recipe for chocolate chip cookies.  I love how this recipe does not have eggs, milk or sugar in it.  It uses almond meal, honey and coconut oil as the foundation.  Perfect!  The only ingredient I had to pick up at the store was the almond meal!  One fast stop at Trader Joe’s, and I’m armed and dangerous… 🙂  If you don’t have a TJ’s near you or the local store doesn’t carry almond meal, you can create it quite easily on your own.  Just Google it!  Me?  I hit the lazy button and bought it.

This batch only makes 8 cookies.  What?  8?   I know!!  Trust me, we’re only eating to satisfy our craving of sweets, so how many do we honestly need?  Gosh… that’s like someone telling me to only eat one potato chip.  Sure…  Well, my husband would say double the batch, and I might have to agree.  This recipe is too good!

Recipe (with only one tiny modification) by Oatmeal With a Fork.

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • scant ¼ t. sea salt
  • ⅛ tsp. baking soda
  • ¼ tsp. cinnamon
  • shake of all-spice
  • 3 Tbsp. coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp. honey
  • 1½ tsp. vanilla
  • 1 Tbsp. water
  • 4 Tbsp. dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix the almond meal, sea salt, baking soda, cinnamon, and all-spice together.  Add the oil, honey, and vanilla and mix everything together.  Add in 1 Tbsp water (or a little less if batter seems moist enough.)  Mix, and then add chocolate chips.  Bake for 10 minutes until golden edges appear.  Let set for 5 minutes (do not remove until the cookies sets.)  Enjoy!

One thought on “Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

