Slow Cooked Balsamic Chicken

Slow Cooked Balsamic Chicken

I used to be a rule follower.  Ok, I still follow most rules, I’m not about to cause havoc in the world, but I do like to break the rules in cooking from time to time.  When baking, rules are necessary (for the most part,) so not to ruin the batch of whatever it is I’m making.  That’s what I enjoy about cooking… it’s rule breaking time!  Measurements? Why?  How long should I cook it?  Meh.

For you who need strict measurements, I have bad news… this recipe is not for you.  Sorry, but I didn’t measure.  A little of this, a little of that is how this recipe went.  For those who are adventurers, have fun!  How was the taste?  De-licious.  And no, the balsamic didn’t overpower the chicken, in case you were wondering.

Oh hey, did I tell you that I’m writing a children’s book?  Let’s see how many of you actually read this sentence and say, WHAT??? 🙂  I am, and it’s where my time is being spent lately.  When I publish the book, you’ll hear about it!  In the meantime, enjoy the recipe below!

Ingredients:

  • Balsamic vinegar (ehhhh about 1/3 c.-ish)
  • sliced garlic cloves (around 3-5 cloves or more if you love garlic!)
  • 1/4 of a medium onion- minced
  • splash of olive oil (or 2)
  • few shakes of garlic powder
  • 3 or 4 shakes of steak seasoning (yes I did…)
  • 1-2 tsp. of dried basil (or more if you love basil)
  • 3 breasts of organic chicken (organic I find has a dense texture compared to regular)

Directions:

Place chicken in slow cooker.  In a bowl, mix ingredients together, and pour over the chicken.  Turn on high 4-5 hours. (If you go more, just know it will really break down the chicken, so do be careful about that.)

5 thoughts on “Slow Cooked Balsamic Chicken

  1. Andrea, woohoo on writing a children’s book! (There was no “say what?” about it.) Best, best wishes on that. And thanks for this recipe! I’m up for the an “approximate measurements” adventure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

