Basic Carpet Deodorizer

Basic Carpet Deodorizer

Another tried and true recipe I have tested out was a basic carpet deodorizer.  Some people have done this recipe with just baking soda, and some have added essential oils.  Lastly, I have also seen people add spices which sounds more my cup of tea since I keep many spices in our home.  I have gone with a dried lavender which I chopped up in a food processor, but if you have fresh and give this a try, let me know how it works vs. the dry variety.  I can only imagine how nice a cinnamon/cloves variety would smell around Christmas time… Hmmm, maybe my next go around since it’s getting to be that time of year.

So today I tested the “recipe” out and found it to work quite nicely.  I didn’t find the smell of lavender lingering in the home too long, but the rugs smell clean and I even sprinkled some on the couch too!  Since we have dogs in our home, keeping the house smelling fresh (and not like a dog) is super important to me.  I will definitely stick to this recipe!

Ingredients:Basic Carpet Deodorizer

  • Baking Soda – 3/4 cup (or more depending on your needs)
  • Spice of your choice (about a TBSP per 1/2 cup – or more)
  • Food Processor
  • Shaker can or spoon

Method:

Measure out ingredients and put into food processor.  Blend together.  Put into shaker can.

Use:  

Shake shake shake!!  Wait 15 minutes to let settle into carpet or furniture.  Vacuum!

Leave a Reply

