Black Bean Brownies and Peanut Butter Swirl

Black Bean and Peanut Butter Brownies

This summer, I had an opportunity to talk with Jacinda Garabito on WCCB News in my home discussing healthier substitutions in the baking world.  This topic hit close to home, as the past year, I have been working on this exact topic!  Eating cleaner, eating healthier, eating real food… And I must tell you, eating in this fashion has really changed the way I feel as well as how much sugar I DON’T want to eat anymore.  Processed sugars (as well as food) has been such a turnoff anymore, that I can officially claim that I have spoiled my family.  Whenever we eat out, we shake our heads and ask why bother?  (Ok, I do have a few favorite outings, and I stick to them when we go out.)

This recipe is slightly adapted from Damy Programs.  I had to run this recipe once, and the peanut butter section TWICE.  I will tell you, that the peanut butter part gave a lot of readers on her site some grief about it not working nicely, and I likewise had the same problem.  I believe it truly has to with the heat applied, and low heat is the best option.

My thoughts?  It’s definitely a new flavor for me, and no, you cannot taste the bean flavor for those wondering.  It has a dark taste to it, and it’s certainly not your typical SWEET brownie.  But, for those interested in eating well, or those with aversion to heavy sweets, this is a winner.

Great benefit to these brownies?  High in fiber, clean, high in nutrients, and gluten free. 

Brownie Ingredients:

  • 1 can of black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup eggwhites
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 Tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 Tbsp Maple syrup
  • 1-1/2 tsp instant coffee
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Peanut Butter Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1 Tbsp Maple Syrup
  • pinch of salt
  • splash of vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place off of the black brownie ingredients into a food processor and blend.  Grease 8×8 baking dish, and pour brownie batch into dish.  Spread evenly.  On the stove top, melt peanut butter ingredients SLOWLY on low heat. Once it becomes smooth, take off heat immediately and swirl mixture onto brownies with a butter knife.  Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes.  When top becomes firm and brownies pull away from the side of the dish, they are done.  Let set in baking dish for at least 10 minutes before cutting.

One thought on “Black Bean Brownies and Peanut Butter Swirl

Leave a Reply

