Spicy Taco Chili – Slow Cooked

Spicy Taco Chili - slow cookedLast night I found a great recipe to try out that looked quite delicious.  I’m one for picking out recipes by it’s appearance on Google or Pinterest.  Don’t give me grief… that’s how I do it, and it works.  After going through a few photos that look tempting, I then check out the recipes to see the complexity as well as how healthy it is.  Except… for desserts.

This taco chili sounded perfect for my husband who is a huge spicy food fan.  However, I had yet to create a dish spicy enough to match his palate, as I’m not one to eat with THAT kind of heat.  However, once in a while, I do crave a good spicy meal that sends me to the kitchen several times for another water run.  Isn’t spicy good for the body?  Well… I’ll just tell myself it is. 🙂

How did this meal taste?  Nailed it.  Perfection.  Serious heat.  And I just found out the best news, after I had eaten a full bowl (with a little sour cream to cut the heat); that this is a pretty healthy meal!  (I don’t do Weight Watchers, but if you do, put this is on the list to try.)  So, with that… it has officially made our dinner rotation.

What do you top it over?  You could just eat it in a bowl, but I’d recommend it with some rice or tortilla chips.

Ingredients (adapted from Skinny Taste):

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 16-oz can organic black beans
  • 1 16-oz can organic kidney beans
  • 1 8-oz can organic marinara sauce
  • 10 oz package frozen corn kernels
  • 2 14.5-oz cans diced tomatoes w/chilies (this is important for the heat)
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 3/4 tsp. cumin
  • 24 oz (3-4) boneless skinless chicken breasts

Directions:

Place all of the ingredients into the slow cooker in the order listed above and mix. Place chicken on top of mixture. Place on low for 8 hours or high for 5-6 hours.  About 1/2 hour before serving time, take chicken out and shred with a fork.  Place chicken back into cooker and finish cook time.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Spicy Taco Chili – Slow Cooked

Leave a Reply

