Pumpkin Banana Ice Cream

Pumpkin banana ice cream

My daughter has a thing for ice cream, so much that she could eat it every day.  The best thing I can do as a parent is to guide her sweet tooth to crave the right type of sweets.  It may seem difficult, and it doesn’t happen overnight, so don’t look for a quick fix when making sweet changes.

This recipe is considered clean, and in my book, healthy.  It is made with pumpkin puree, frozen bananas, pure maple syrup (or honey if you like) and some pumpkin pie spice.  How did it fare?  While my batch tasted a lot like bananas, I believe they were overly ripe, which caused the heavy flavor.  I think the freshest bananas would be best to get more of a pumpkin taste out of it.  The original writer mentioned that you can use frozen mango puree instead if you like.  That sounds good to me too!

In any case, I like the batch of ice cream I made from her recipe, and my ice cream addicted daughter does too.  And… I’m a guilt free Mama letting her have some as an after school snack.  🙂

Stop by this site to see her recipe!

Leave a Reply

