No-Crust Quiche

No Crust Quiche

Happy 2014 everyone!!!  I pray that you all had a wonderful holiday season, filled full of quality family time, friendship, and many delicious foods (of course!)  Is it me, or did you find that last year was hard for so many near and dear to your heart?  Is that just because we’re getting older?  I certainly don’t FEEL like I am (most days.)  Catch that?

Life… so what plans have you for 2014?  While I am not a “resolution” kind of gal, I do have dreams I hope to see accomplished.  Though it occurred to me that if I actually want to see any dream become a reality, it needs to be a goal with plans attached, and no longer a wish, or thought.  What is my big dream?  It may be very “first world” but I want to give my family a second home at our favorite beach.  I’m not talking some high society house on the oceanfront… please.  Let’s be realistic.  Just a pretty little townhome or old school ranch in the Mount Pleasant area or our preferred choice – Sullivan’s Island would be a dream.  There it is again, that word!! Dream.  GOAL. GOAL. GOAL… I need to get it in my head.  Is this GOAL achievable in 2014 for us?  Nothing is impossible, however, I realize that things are on God’s timeline, and He may have a different plan for me.  So we’ll see?  I know it’s a lofty goal, and probably one that will take several years to make come true, but it’s now a goal, and no longer a pipe dream. 🙂

Well, enough about that.  I have plans, and 2014’s motto for me is ever so simple.  “Go get it!”  Said with a bit of a southern twang that I cannot possibly pronounce as perfectly as a close (native) Charlottean friend of mine.  Got a motto?  Ok, that is NOT food/health based?  Surprise me, cause I’d love to hear it.

Today’s breakfast was brought to you by… ME!  I did NOT copy or adapt anyone’s recipe, I just made this one on the fly, with a little background research on cook times.  Cheers to our health!

No-Crust Quiche

  • Chopped mushrooms
  • Chopped onions (1/4 cup or more depending on your taste)
  • 3-4 pieces of cooked bacon, chopped
  • 2 handfuls of fresh spinach, wilted – see directions
  • 4 organic eggs
  • 1 cup of milk
  • handful of mozzarella cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large fry pan, cook up bacon until soft and lightly browned (but not crispy).  Set bacon aside on a paper towel to drain.  Drain “most” of the bacon fat from the pan, reserving a little to cook up the onions and mushrooms.  While onions/mushrooms are heating up, grab a glass pie plate and spray with cooking spray or coconut oil.  When onions/mushrooms are complete, place in pie plate and spread around.  In the same fry pan, spray a little cooking oil (if pan is dry), and place in spinach until it lightly wilts.  Once wilted, lightly lay in spinach on top of onion mixture.  In a separate bowl, mix eggs and milk, and pour mixture into the pie plate (over all the other items.)  Sprinkle mozzarella cheese (or cheddar) on top of the mixture.  Place the pie into the oven for 45 minutes at 350 degrees.

Serve immediately.

*TIP – My hubby suggested topping it with a little salsa should you like a little heat.

4 thoughts on “No-Crust Quiche

  1. Andrea, that’s a fabulous goal! I also like your proactive motto. I tend to wait until inspiration hits, but it’s a fickle commodity and precious time is wasted between creative spurts. For me, the best approach has been: “Do one thing!” (Then do the next, and the next…)

    P.S. I think your quiche will make a lovely meal at your beach house. 🙂 Happy New Year!

    1. Thanks Kim! I’m prone to laziness, so if I don’t set ultimatums with myself, it will never happen. It’s probably been oh… I’ve lost count how long, since I’ve set a deadline for myself. I agree! The quiche would be delicious in the new house. 🙂

Leave a Reply

