Sauteed Red Cabbage

Corned Beef and Red Cabbage

A couple of weeks ago, my sweet husband ran out to get us dinner, and brought back trout and a side of braised red cabbage. At first glance, I gave it the look that a child probably would; the “yuck” face. But as an adult, I recognized my ridiculous behavior, and gave it a try. And I’m glad that I did!! I would have missed out!

I decided to recreate this dish, with some minor changes. Rather than braise the cabbage, I sauteed it due to time constraints. Also, because I paired this cabbage with our favorite Irish feast, Corned Beef and Cabbage, I didn’t add the crumbled feta.

The biggest question I had was, “what will the kids think?” Well, one child didn’t care for it, but my other child wanted heaps of it! Go figure! I hope you enjoy the flavors and perhaps you will change it up this St. Patrick’s Day and use red cabbage instead of the traditional green. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of red cabbage
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp sugar

Directions:

Cut cabbage into small strips and break apart. In a large pan (with a lid to match) heat up olive oil over medium heat. Place red cabbage strips into pan and cook until it wilts. In a small bowl, whisk the vinegars and sugar together. Some of the sugar may settle to the bottom, just let it be. Pour mixture over cabbage (leaving sugar residue in bowl.) Using tongs, saute cabbage in pan. Cover with lid and periodically mix up the batch until completely cooked through.

Optional: Serve with a sprinkle of feta if making a food to match up with it.

One thought on “Sauteed Red Cabbage

Leave a Reply

