Rustic Almond Biscuits

Rustic Almond Biscuits

Last night, the weather was cool, and I found it a perfect time to make a beef stew in the crock pot.  Who knew we would still be having chilly weather in April?  Everywhere I go, I bump into people that all say the same statement, “I am SO over this weather.”  I couldn’t agree more.

Back to biscuits.  I am not from the south, so I never really go into the concept of eating biscuits.  I know… “for shame!”  I should love the buttery taste they present, but to me they are awkward to eat because of it’s texture.  Even when made correctly, I would still resort to a croissant or an English muffin any day over a biscuit.

However, this did not stop me from trying out a biscuit recipe that is Paleo friendly.  Eating healthy like I am, very low carbs/Paleo, causes major cravings, and I have to find creative ways to put those cravings to the curb!  This was a great solution, and I labeled them “rustic” because these aren’t your mama’s pretty fluffy and flaky biscuits.  These babies are dense, rich with texture and flavor, and totally deserves the name “rustic.”

Enjoy this recipe pulled from the cookbook Paleo Comfort Foods (with one minor variation of my own)!

  •  6 large egg whites 
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 3/4 cup almond meal
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp butter 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  In a large bowl, mix the flours, baking powder and then with a knife, cut the cold butter into the mix.  Pinch butter with your hands into the flours to create a crumbly mixture.  Chill, if you would like, in the fridge for 10 minutes.  In a separate bowl, mix the egg whites until really frothy.  Pour eggs into flour mix, and fold together.  Spoon batter into greased muffin tins.  Bake for 12-15 minutes until golden brown.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Rustic Almond Biscuits

Leave a Reply

