Homemade Dog Biscuits

 Simple Homemade Dog Biscuits

Dog Biscuits 2

I’ve made dog biscuits yesterday due to the fact that I really miss baking!  It’s hard to eat so well, and bake so little.  I need to find a happy balance perhaps.  Going forward, the “hope” is my inspiration with baking will lead me down some more  interesting paths.  Baking, while eating so low carb with a kick of Paleo, has it’s difficulties with being creative. Oh well.  I’m sure it will pan itself out?  (Oh, ouch, I crack myself up…)

So, how is all that going?  Seriously, my sweet tooth is nearly abolished.  I had coffee the other day, made by my sweet daughter; she splashed in the half n’ half like I taught her to do, then she added a Tbsp of honey.  And it shocked me how much I noticed it’s flavor.

It’s true… sugar doesn’t taste THAT good anymore.  However, the caveat is dark chocolate, in it’s finest form; delightful.  It’s my fix, and that is all I need.

Back to dog biscuits.  I pulled this recipe, courtesy of Decor and the Dog, and even taught this recipe to my high school cooking class!  You think I’m crazy.  I do too, but listen, we have dogs to feed, and why would I give them junk biscuits?  Have you seen what they are made of?  Just as bad as our own processed food.

Really? I made these because they are A LOT cheaper to make versus buying them.  Trust me, it’s worth the 20 minutes time spent front to back with making these little treats.

Lastly, I did have 3 different dogs taste them, and you would think I was handing them a fresh steak!  It’s like their little minds are saying, “I can’t get enough… need more biscuits.”

Testing Dog Biscuit

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup Old Fashioned oats
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons applesauce

Method:

Heat your oven to 350 degrees.  Mix together dry ingredients in one bowl, and wet in another.  Blend together until all mixed nicely.  It will not be a smooth texture.  Put a piece of waxed paper on the table, and put the dough on the paper.  Place another piece of waxed paper on top of the dough.  Roll flat with a rolling pin until 1/4″ thick or a little thicker if you desire.  Using a cookie cutter, create shapes and place on greased baking sheet.  If you don’t want to create shapes, just roll some dough in circles, as you would a cookie, and press onto cookie sheet, making little circles.  Bake for 15-20 minutes depending on the heat of your oven.  They will finish out the same color they began, so, test for springback to see if completed.  

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Dog Biscuits

Leave a Reply

